Follow

Productivity > Default Productivity Settings

  1. Click the Main Menu 
  2. Click Productivity
  3. Clicking Default Productivity Settings

Productivity settings determine if the apps and websites used by your employees should be considered Productive, Neutral, Non-Productive or Prohibited. These settings affect employee Productivity Reports.

Default Productivity settings apply to all mobile and desktop clients, unless rules for the same apps and websites are overridden by a custom Productivity Group you’ve created for specific employees.

Productivity settings combine the default rules with any custom group an employee is placed in. Custom groups override the defaults for any apps and websites that are added to it, but only for employees that are group members.

For example:

Facebook’s Messenger app can be set as neutral, non-productive or prohibited in the default productivity settings for all employees. However, the marketing department manages social media campaigns. So we create a custom Productivity Group and add Messenger as a productive application. Then we add employees from the marketing department into this new group. Now productivity reports will reflect their time in the Messenger app as productive, instead of penalizing those employees when they are actually working. Employees not in a custom group are still measured against the default productivity settings.

On the left side you’ll see all known applications, with the initial status of “Neutral”. On the right side a default list of websites appears, also set as “neutral”.

 To edit the default productivity status of an application or website, click the edit icon at the top of each section.

At the top of the application editing page, you can choose “Show Installed Applications Only” to filter the list.

The Applications and Websites lists are not extensive. After clicking the edit icon, you can add more apps or websites at the bottom of the editing page.

Applications do not need to be installed to add them and set a productivity rating. If an application is installed after it has been added to either the defaults or a custom group, it’s productivity setting will immediately go into effect.

When adding new applications, the complete executable filename must be entered, including the file extension (.exe, .bat, etc.). If an app is launched from an icon, check the icon properties for the pathname to the exact executable being launched. This is the filename that must be entered.

After adding a new application or website to the list and setting the default productivity level, be sure to click “Save” at the bottom of the page.

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments

Powered by Zendesk